What does this mean

for you?

The “Hands-Free Georgia Act” is designed to save lives
and help lower insurance costs

How wiill it work?
This bill will prohibit drivers from holding the phone

Drivers would NOT be allowed to:

Physically hold or support a wireless telecommuni-

cations device (i.e. mobile phone) or a stand-alone

electronic device (i.e. iPad, iPod, Kindle, etc.);

o Exceptions would be made for an earpiece,
headphone device or telecommunications device
worn on a wrist (i.e. smart watch).

Write, send or read any text-based communication,

including but not limited to instant message, e-mail or

internet data;

o Exceptions would be allowed for voice-to-text
technology.

Watch a video or movie on a wireless telecommunica-
tions device or stand-alone electronic device;

Record or broadcast a video on a wireless
telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic
device;

o This would not apply to devices used for the sole
purpose of continuously recording or broadcasting
video within or outside of the motor vehicle
(i.e. dash cams).

HHandsFreeGeorgia’

Drivers would be allowed to:

Use their phone for voice communication on a
hands-free basis;

Touch their phone for dialing, receiving or ending
a call as long as the driver is not holding or
supporting the phone;

Use their phone for GPS navigation apps;
Use voice-to-text technology.

What would the fines/penalties be?

First conviction: $50, one point on a license

Second conviction: $100, two points on a
license

Third and subsequent convictions: $150,
three points on a license
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